Malew bring in trio ahead of new season's start

in Football

The first smattering of transfers have been processed by the Isle of Man FA ahead of the start of the new Manx football season next month.

JCK Division Two sides Malew and Douglas and District have been busy since the summer transfer window opened on July 15 signing up three and five players respectively.

Joining the Clagh Vane outfit for the campaign which kicks off on Saturday, September 2, are Pulrose United duo Dale Walker and Peter Dunn, the former hitting double figures in the scoring charts for Pully last season.

Former Malew hot shot Daniel Thirwell also returns to the club after netting 13 league goals for fellow second-tier side Governor’s Athletic last term.

D and D have been busy in the transfer market as always bringing in five new faces.

Among these are Polish man mountain Konrad Kumor who returns to the Noble’s Park outfit full time after a spell at Malew.

Ex-Union Mills man Daniel Shuttleworth has also signed up alongside Joe Kennaugh, Dylan Quayle and Matthew Gregg.

Douglas Royal have made their first signing ahead of their return to the Premier League.

Former Corinthians striker Lewis Griffiths has signed up with Chris Feeney’s Ballafletcher side after a spell at Douglas High School Old Boys.

Rushen United have picked up three players from neighbours Colby.

Andrew Blake makes the well-trodden path to Croit Lowey alongside Andrew Hughes and Kyle Lunn.

Last season’s top-flight runners-up Corinthians, who take on champions St George’s in the Eric Fletcher Charity Shield on August 27, have bolstered their squad with the signing of Adam McCullough.

The ex-Braddan striker scored a bucket load of goals for the Swans on their way to clinching the JCK Combination Two title last term.

The transfer window shuts at midday on September 2, although players are allowed to move clubs before December 31 if both sides agree.

Transfers (Up to August 8)

Joe Kennaugh (Unattached to Douglas & District)

Eden Ludgate (U/t to Colby)

Nathan Miller(U/t to St Mary’s)

Adam McCullough (U/t to Corinthians)

Dylan Quayle(U/t to Douglas & District)

Matthew Gregg (U/t to Douglas & District)

Daniel Shuttleworth (U/ to Douglas & District)

Sean Quine (U/t to Castletown)

Lewis Griffiths (DHSOB to Douglas Royal)

Aaron Clark(Malew to Castletown)

Andrew Hughes (Colby to Rushen Utd)

Daniel Thirwell (Governor’s Athletic to Malew)

Dale Walker (Pulrose Utd to Malew)

Peter Dunn (Pulrose Utd to Malew)

Konrad Kumor(Malew to Douglas & District)

Andrew Blake (Colby to Rushen Utd)

Kyle Lunn (Colby to Rushen Utd)

l Keep up to date with all the latest Manx football news by following @manxfootyblog on Twitter and online at

Add Comment

Add Your Comment

You don't need an account to leave a comment

By posting your comment you agree to our T & C